Identity thieves are out there, waiting to use your own computer to steal your identity from you. Fight back against cyber crime and don't let them take advantage of you. It's time to take your online security into your own hands. It is my hope that by sharing my own experiences with identity thieves and other online predators trying to get my information I will help someone else learn to spot such underhanded tactics before they are taken advantage of.






Scam? Does Radiux really want Internet Explorer users to upgrade to “FireFox”?



I got an e-mail today that is looking very helpful and suggests that I immediately update my browser from Internet Explorer to FireFox (stet) to help me be more secure online.

Here, let me show you:

Hi ,

As you may have heard in recent national and local news, almost all versions of Internet Explorer have serious security problems (go here for a full list), causing users to have their private information stolen.

Please make it a priority to update your browser to FireFox now, it will

* make your Internet usage more secure
* let you surf the web faster
* even make money for you as member of Radiux

This will only take a few Minutes, so please update your browser now.

Best wishes,
Emily
Radiux Customer Service

P.S. Make sure to forward this message to a friend!

This Message was sent to our member (XXX@XXXXXXXX.com)
If you are not the intended recipient of this email, please disregard. Thank you.

Now, I did join Radiux a while back, so it makes me wonder a bit more on if this e-mail is legit, so I have gone and registered with their forum so I can make an inquiry on that. The trouble here is, the links on the e-mail.

I’m sure you fellow Firefox fans out there noticed that I made a typo on my first mention, the same typo that is in the e-mail. I wrote FireFox, not Firefox. When I checked the links in the thing they all wanted to send me to a website called fireknox …. woah, wait - fireknox? I don’t think so dudes! I’m not even going to look up Fireknox and see what it is, because sounds to me like someone with a grudge against Raduix has started targeting people. I’ll let you know what I find out from their forums later on about rather or not this is a legitimate e-mail, but for now, I am classifying it in the category of very suspicious probable scam that likely leads to a virus planting website. I’m not going there.

Besides, I already use Firefox, have used it for years, so have no interest in following their link to update anyway.

For those who want a legitimate link for where to update Firefox you can find it at the Mozilla website at: www.mozilla.com/firefox.









E-card scam



I checked my e-mail today after a week of feeling bad and was not at all surprised to find a Hallmark e-card in there. Of course, I do not know anyone that would send me a Hallmark e-card, and no one has said they were sending me one, so… easy to spot as a scam even before you see the sender is some admin at xs.ac92 dot com website.

Hallmark card scam
(click to see full size image)

These are usually the sorts of e-mails that carry along a little trojan program looking to steal your information. What ticks me off about this one is that the thing is circulating around just before Mother’s Day, which means there are a lot of senior citizens out there that are going to assume their kids sent them an e-card and open it up.

Don’t fall prey to these suckers, if you have no idea who a sender of an e-card is - *DO NOT OPEN IT*. Make it clear to everyone that you know that might send you something like that, that you will only open such things if they have told you in a separate manner that they are sending it to you. I have made it clear to all of my friends that unless they tell me over AIM (AOL’s Instant Messenger) that they have sent me an e-card or other e-mail with some sort of website link or attachment, then I will not open it, even if I recognize the sender. It’s better to miss out on a cutsey card than to have your personal financial information compromised by a scammer.