They are persistent, I’ll give them that
June 26th, 2008 — CyberCatMy accented little stalkers called me back up today regarding my domain name and that fax they want to send to me. This time the fellow still had an accent, but he had much much much better English skills than the last two had possessed. I could understand what he said… I just could not write quickly enough to keep up with what he was saying they had to send me the fax for and have a poor memory (Note to my readers - never get old. ::sigh::) Anyway, as for the call….
The fellow identified himself as Mark Robinson and said that he was from Domain Registry Support and had to send me a fax regarding my domain. (Not this one, and I am not disclosing the name of the one he called about.) I asked him exactly what it was that he had to send me, and he yammered off something about a notice on my domain. I was not satisfied with why someone with an accent I hesitate to pinpoint exactly (wasn’t German, English Spanish or Oriental though) would need to send me a fax. I asked him if it was because my domain was about to expire or something (remember, this is the one I know has a year before I need to renew it), and he said something about it being “A notification that could range from the expiration date to…” I missed what “to” was all about because he seemed to talk faster from the moment he said “notification”. I don’t think he wanted me to know what he was sending me. lol
I asked him what hosting company my domain was registered through - he did not have that information. I asked what one he was calling for, since he was sending me something regarding my site and he said something about being able to give me a 1-800 number and I of course said “Yeah, gimme that!” ::snicker:: He gave me a number saying I was to call them and “ask about the hosting company of my domain” (like I really have to ask someone else who my hosting company is?!?).
I took the number, 1-800-591-7398, to Google and asked them to find it for me. That brought up a page of assorted phone number matches and near matches. One match was for followmeonline.com:
followmeonline.com
Call Toll Free: 1-800-591-7398 … Domain name included 1 email address at your domain name 24-hour toll-free phone … 9.95 $2.99 1 / year (save 70%) Reserve …
followmeonline.com - 14k - Cached
Ah ha. Another little gem I found (who I will link to) is HyperOrg.com - Domain Registry Support. Check that out, it’s a blog entry on these same dudes and a long list of comments by people that have encountered them. Some have very good advice, I was particularly amused by the one who in 2006 said to tell the guys to call 202-456-2461 (contact number for the White House).
Anyway, as for the fellow that has been calling me. I went to the Big G then and asked Google what they knew about the phone number that Mark Robinson had given to me. Yup, them guys get around - and they have a bad reputation based on the complaints I have seen so far.
Time for a little more digging, just to make sure you avoid them, don’t you agree?
Numbers reported by people at 800Notes are: 800-223-9113 and 800-224-8606
One fellow offered up the additional comment of: “Based on tracking it looks like it’s coming from an area called Pinellas Park Florida for anyone out there investigating. No caller ID information” (guess that’d include me? huh? lol)
This sounds familiar: “05/05/08 10:50AM PST - Call from woman with Indian accent saying she needs to update our website domain information. I said we normally get emails for that. She said that thier email server is down for an anti-virus upgrade and asked for my fax number. I said we will just wait for thier server to come back online and get an email. I then hung up on her.
Caller ID: 800-224-8606″
That was the exact same response I got from the gal just the other day, only I baited her on to waste her time and delay her trying to call the next poor fellow on her list. There were 6 pages of complaints (I linked to page 5), so I’ll move on and leave you to read more if you want to follow the link.
Statistics I have got for the guys:
At the Followmeonline.com URL they want you to register your domain with them (which seems to be hard to get back away from them once you have done it), then they’ll also sell you:
“Add email…. add website… private domain registration for an extra $9 a year to keep your information private (For just $9 they’ll protect you from people like them!)… starter web page with basic information until you’re ready to upgrade to a full package (AKA: they’ll sell you one of them ad filled spammy ‘holding’ pages until you agree to pay for a full website)… domain locking to prevent domain being hijacked (Ain’t that called letting the fox guard the hen house?)…” and the list goes on.
Basically it can cost you a minimum of an arm to get your domain hosted by them, throw in an optional leg and they’ll make sure no one else can do to them what they just did.
I also looked at domainregistrysupport.com, but I did not spend any time looking deeper into the pages - I’m already satisfied these guys are nothing but a spammy scam company that should be trounced off the Internet, no need to waste more of my time. If they call you ask them how stupid they think you are and hang up on them - unless you want to have some fun, then by all means feel free to act the part of the kitty and keep the little mice on the phone. Just be careful and don’t let any real information slip out about you or your sites. I’m going to go find some breakfast now.









