Identity thieves are out there, waiting to use your own computer to steal your identity from you. Fight back against cyber crime and don't let them take advantage of you. It's time to take your online security into your own hands. It is my hope that by sharing my own experiences with identity thieves and other online predators trying to get my information I will help someone else learn to spot such underhanded tactics before they are taken advantage of.






Confusing phone call



I got a confusing phone call a little while ago.  Some fellow, who barely spoke English, called me up and wanted to send me a fax in connection with one of my websites.  And while I was perfectly willing to listen to whatever it was that he wanted to talk to me about, I could not understand what he was trying to say that he wanted to send to me.  When I tried to discern just what it was he was trying to say he wanted to send to me, he quickly thanked me and said goodbye, hanging up before I could say anything.

My best guess is that, since I have not done anything with the site in a year and it is about 10 years old (so a nice established domain name), I assume  he wanted to send me an offer to buy it.  No chance I’d think about selling that site though, other sites I have - make me an offer, I’ll consider selling for the right price, but I seriously doubt anyone would offer me an amount on that particular site that would entice me into selling it.

Whatever he had wanted, it really don’t concern me much.  He did not want it badly enough to slow down his speed talking and discuss options for my having him fax the information to a local place like Mail Boxes Etc or the UPS store for me to pick it up, hanging up on me when I did not have a fax sitting beside me, so he obviously did not want to talk to me that badly about whatever it was.

Which leaves me assuming the guy was fishing for information, I just don’t know what sort of information.  I would like to know if anyone else has had unsolicited phone calls in regards to their  websites from a fast talking fellow speaking broken English.  My first assumption was the guy wanted me to renew the domain through his service - but that domain is a long way from needing to be renewed (a year away from it).  I guess he could have been working off of an old list that was printed out before I renewed that domain, but…. Iiiiii duunoooo… sounds fishy and spammy and just all around like a scam of some kind to me since he talked so fast and would not talk about alternate ways he could send me whatever it was he was wanting to send to me.









Scam? Does Radiux really want Internet Explorer users to upgrade to “FireFox”?



I got an e-mail today that is looking very helpful and suggests that I immediately update my browser from Internet Explorer to FireFox (stet) to help me be more secure online.

Here, let me show you:

Hi ,

As you may have heard in recent national and local news, almost all versions of Internet Explorer have serious security problems (go here for a full list), causing users to have their private information stolen.

Please make it a priority to update your browser to FireFox now, it will

* make your Internet usage more secure
* let you surf the web faster
* even make money for you as member of Radiux

This will only take a few Minutes, so please update your browser now.

Best wishes,
Emily
Radiux Customer Service

P.S. Make sure to forward this message to a friend!

This Message was sent to our member (XXX@XXXXXXXX.com)
If you are not the intended recipient of this email, please disregard. Thank you.

Now, I did join Radiux a while back, so it makes me wonder a bit more on if this e-mail is legit, so I have gone and registered with their forum so I can make an inquiry on that. The trouble here is, the links on the e-mail.

I’m sure you fellow Firefox fans out there noticed that I made a typo on my first mention, the same typo that is in the e-mail. I wrote FireFox, not Firefox. When I checked the links in the thing they all wanted to send me to a website called fireknox …. woah, wait - fireknox? I don’t think so dudes! I’m not even going to look up Fireknox and see what it is, because sounds to me like someone with a grudge against Raduix has started targeting people. I’ll let you know what I find out from their forums later on about rather or not this is a legitimate e-mail, but for now, I am classifying it in the category of very suspicious probable scam that likely leads to a virus planting website. I’m not going there.

Besides, I already use Firefox, have used it for years, so have no interest in following their link to update anyway.

For those who want a legitimate link for where to update Firefox you can find it at the Mozilla website at: www.mozilla.com/firefox.