Scam? Does Radiux really want Internet Explorer users to upgrade to “FireFox”?

I got an e-mail today that is looking very helpful and suggests that I immediately update my browser from Internet Explorer to FireFox (stet) to help me be more secure online.

Here, let me show you:

Hi ,

As you may have heard in recent national and local news, almost all versions of Internet Explorer have serious security problems (go here for a full list), causing users to have their private information stolen.

Please make it a priority to update your browser to FireFox now, it will

* make your Internet usage more secure
* let you surf the web faster
* even make money for you as member of Radiux

This will only take a few Minutes, so please update your browser now.

Best wishes,
Emily
Radiux Customer Service

P.S. Make sure to forward this message to a friend!

This Message was sent to our member (XXX@XXXXXXXX.com)
If you are not the intended recipient of this email, please disregard. Thank you.

Now, I did join Radiux a while back, so it makes me wonder a bit more on if this e-mail is legit, so I have gone and registered with their forum so I can make an inquiry on that. The trouble here is, the links on the e-mail.

I’m sure you fellow Firefox fans out there noticed that I made a typo on my first mention, the same typo that is in the e-mail. I wrote FireFox, not Firefox. When I checked the links in the thing they all wanted to send me to a website called fireknox …. woah, wait – fireknox? I don’t think so dudes! I’m not even going to look up Fireknox and see what it is, because sounds to me like someone with a grudge against Raduix has started targeting people. I’ll let you know what I find out from their forums later on about rather or not this is a legitimate e-mail, but for now, I am classifying it in the category of very suspicious probable scam that likely leads to a virus planting website. I’m not going there.

Besides, I already use Firefox, have used it for years, so have no interest in following their link to update anyway.

For those who want a legitimate link for where to update Firefox you can find it at the Mozilla website at: www.mozilla.com/firefox.

Posted in Browser Scams, Internet Scams, Possible Scam, scam. Comments Off

Comments are closed.